RSS Feed

Buffalo Seitan Wrap

Posted on

The veggies! The sauce! The "meat!" THE BUFFALO-NESS!

I love buffalo chicken. I love the burning of the hot sauce and the tang of the vinegar. Delicious. I am also a huge fan of blue/bleu cheese.

Seriously, as I was chopping the chunk I bought into a crumbly mess, I was eating pieces of it. Yes, I can eat chunks of moldy cheese.

Anyway, I found this recipe for buffalo tempeh wraps on The No Meat Athlete site. They guy is vegan and runs marathons. That’s pretty cool. While I am happy to try vegan recipes and have been doing it a lot lately, I am not interested in going completely vegan. Vegan websites, are a good recipe source, though!

Ingredients:

2T Butter

1/4c Frank’s Hot Sauce (or more to your liking)

What? It fits... mmm

1T White vinegar (or more if you want it tangier)

1 lb Seitan (I used Westsoy brand chicken style; drained)

1t Flour

1/2 Cucumber, peeled and finely diced

1 Tomato, diced

2c Fresh spinach

2 oz Blue/Bleu cheese crumble

6oz yogurt (I used Redwood Hill Farm plain goat yogurt)

2c Matchstick carrots

Whole wheat tortillas (I used Maria and Ricardo’s 12 inch tortilla)

 

- Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Combine with hot sauce and vinegar. Add drained seitan and stir to coat. Sprinkle flour and stir until sauce thickens and coats ‘meat.’

- Combine yogurt, cheese and cucumber in a small bowl.

- Assemble wrap using one warmed tortilla and a quarter of all ingredients for each serving.

Serves 4

(Stats: 388 calories, 31g carbs, 18g fat, 28g protein, 6g fiber)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

